New Tab for Miscellaneous Comments or Questions

I’ve just posted a new Misc. tab (WordPress calls these “pages” – they’re near the top), in which to post comments or questions that you’re not exactly sure where to place.  Please read the tab before posting your comment or question.

12 Responses to New Tab for Miscellaneous Comments or Questions

  1. Craig says:

    I’ve just retitled the “Miscellany” tab “Misc.” in order to keep all the tabs/pages in one line at the top. OK, call me anal-retentive.

  2. Craig says:

    I’ve added a more detailed explanation on how to bold, italicize, or blockquote in the Before Commenting tab, for those who are not yet sure how to do so.

  3. Arwen4CJ says:

    Hey guys…I know I haven’t been on here in awhile…..but something the student pastor at my church mentioned in his sermon prompted me to post here.

    I’m currently attending a United Methodist Church (the one I grew up in). I may or may not have said this before. I think I may have just referred to it as a church in a mainline denomination….but I need to name it now.

    I need to eat lunch now, but I will be adding a comment/question that is of deep importance after I’m done eating.

    For now, I’ll say that he attends United Theological Seminary, which is a United Methodist seminary….

  4. Arwen4CJ says:

    So the sermon this past Sunday was about John 11 — where Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead. The student pastor plugged Heidi Baker in the sermon. He talked about how she has raised the dead, healed people, etc. He said that his seminary is becoming increasingly associated with her and her ministry. 😦

    I did some searches online, and I discovered that Heidi Baker gave the commencement speech at United Theological Seminary in December 2013. Not only that, but I also discovered that Heidi’s husband received a doctor of ministry there, as did Randy Clark 😦

    It seems that the hyper-charismatics are switching their strategy. Until recently, it seems that the folks in the hyper-charismatic crowd used to mock seminary education and degrees. A search online revealed that many of the hyper-charismatic leaders are getting degrees from mainline seminaries now.

    Why? I firmly believe that they are trying to pull mainline denominations into their cult. This is a new front — one that I previously thought would be far in coming. I didn’t think that the hyper-charismatics would appeal to those who were in mainline seminaries.

    This is also the missing link between the hyper-charismatics and those in mainline denominations. I truly believe we are closer to the end.

    I’m guessing that Heidi Baker (and Randy Clark) and the others in the seminaries are trying to appeal to the things which attract those in mainline denominations. For the United Methodists, this means appealing to scholarly pursuits and social issues. Then they throw in a little miracle stuff, too. I’m sure that contemplative spirituality also plays a role in uniting them.

    I’m going to try to compare Heidi’s talks at United Theological Seminary with the videos of her talking to hyper-charismatics. If she doesn’t act the same, then we can be sure that she is putting on a show for both groups — and that the speakers just say things that they think their audience would like to hear, and act the way they think their audience wants them to act.

    I believe this is deception at the deepest level, and I’m sure that demons are involved.

    Please pray for the universal church. Thank you.

    I feel like the warning about this really needs to get out there. This stuff is no longer just floating around in hyper-charismatic circles. The whole church is at risk.

  5. Arwen4CJ says:

    Oh…and Randy Clark and Heidi’s husband (and other hyper-charismatics) are now using their degrees as means of advertising for themselves in regard to miracle classes and things they are offering online. 😦

    Heresy alert! 😦

  6. Arwen4CJ says:

    I’d like to talk to both the student pastor and the senior pastor about this situation. (The senior pastor also graduated from United Theological Seminary).

    I know that Heidi Baker and John Crowder have appeared together. Does anyone know if there is a video of Heidi Baker taking part in John Crowder’s blasphemous “communion” services? Or shows her “tokin’ the ghost.”

    If we can find something with either baptism or communion, that would be great. My senior pastor really values the sacraments, and if he sees someone disrespecting them he might be more likely to speak out against Heidi Baker. Thanks.

  7. Craig says:

    Arwen4CJ,

    I was at lunch when I released your comments, but I just noticed they are placed on the blog post announcing the Misc tab rather than the Misc tab itself. Would you mind copying and pasting them there? They’ll get more exposure there, I’d think. I can’t actually ‘move’ a comment, and if I were to copy and paste it, others may think the comment was from me rather than you.

  8. Arwen4CJ says:

    Sure, Craig. 🙂

  9. Marc Metz says:

    Hi Craig,

    This is Marc Metz from Redding,CA. Somehow I could not find your phone # you gave me.Mine is xxx-xxx-xxxx. We have talked in the past about Bethel and the JDS issues.I have another issue that has been raised up in the Grace Movement. Have you heard of Global Grace Seminary? One of my longest standing friends and brother in Christ from the mid 1970’s just earned his bachelors degree with GGS. One of their doctrines is that God’s wrath was not poured out upon Jesus because scripture says God was in Christ reconciling the world.They then try to dismantle Christ’s words on the Cross ” my God my God why have you forsaken me?” from Ps 22. I have noticed you have researched Christ’s humanity in depth.My brother and friend has spread this belief to other of my grace friends. They argue that God the Father never really forsook Jesus. As you are so intelligent to quickly discern from just these few words of mine this has led me to look deeper into the human side of Christ and to look at the sacrifice on the Cross and the symbolism in the animal sacrifices typifying Christ’ Cross. Then would you agree or disagree that it was in Christ’s flesh that our sin and “sin in the flesh” condemned by the Father was born and consumed in Christ’s flesh. We then received the divine exchange His righteousness became ours.Thus we were “in Christ” we were crucified with Him and now sit with Him in Heaven being raised with Him or water baptism means nothing! His human identity with us where he told John the Baptist He should be baptized to fulfill all righteousness then Satan transported Jesus in the wilderness since Jesus was human.Then on the Cross he again identified with us in Him about being forsaken? Am I on the right track here? I know Jesus is God! They only deal with “God was in Christ” but you hear nothing about us being in Christ on the Cross? Paul said I am crucified with Christ and Romans 6.

    These brethren also teach at GGS that everyone is actually saved. Kind of like pre- salvationism. But of course they have to believe? So when they speak of preaching the Gospel to the lost then you just need to tell them the lost they are saved already they just need to see it! So close to universal ism? This also leads them to some weird doctrines about Hell.

    It seems they want to go into grace extremism in order to present the Lord as so incredibly loving even those in Hell experience His love and presence?

    So can you help me here with what to say about Jesus’s Ps 22 words on the Cross to help refute. I don’t think Jesus was saying something that wasn’t true just for the sake of fulfilling the prophecy of Him?

    If you have time you might want to check out GGS as well.

    Thank you.

    In Christ

    Marc Metz

  10. Craig says:

    Marc,

    Good to hear from you! I deleted your phone number so that not everyone else can see it, and I sent you a text. I’ll forgo comment here for now until we speak, as I want to find out more of the particulars. I’d never heard of GGS before.

  11. Craig says:

    Mark,

    While we’ve discussed this a bit, I’m very much belated in answering this on the blog. So here goes. I’ll add more in a bit.

    From Craig Blomberg’s New American Commentary Matthew (NAC 22; ed. E. Ray Clendenen; Accordance electronic ed. [Nashville: Broadman & Holman Publishers, 1992]; bold added):

    Perhaps because of the power and significance of Jesus’ cry, the Aramaic was preserved and then given a translation. Jesus quotes Ps 22:1. The variation in spelling among manuscripts reflects the difference between the Hebrew Eli and the Aramaic Eloi, both meaning my God. All kinds of theological questions are raised here that the text simply does not answer, particularly regarding the relation of Christ’s divine and human natures. But the docetic or Gnostic view that Jesus’ divine nature actually departed at this time because God could in no way suffer (found as early as mid-second century in the apocryphal Gospel of Peter), has usually been rejected by Christians as heretical. Jesus remains a psychosomatically unified entity all the way to the moment of his death. Yet shortly before he dies, he apparently senses an abrupt loss of the communion with the Father which had proved so intimate and significant throughout his life. Not surprisingly, then, Christian theology developed the belief that at this moment Christ bore the sins of all humanity, spiritually separating him from his Heavenly Father. The view that Jesus’ quotation of Ps 22 anticipates the vindication found in the larger context of the psalm stresses what does not appear in the text at the expense of what does (p 419).

    What Blomberg means here is that it was common to quote only a portion of a given passage with the Jewish audience understanding the remaining context. With this in mind, we should look at the psalm in its entirety. The vindication is found at the end of the psalm.

  12. Craig says:

    Marc,

    I nearly didn’t include the middle portion of Blomberg’s quote; however, I decided to keep it based on this that you wrote:

    These brethren also teach at GGS that everyone is actually saved. Kind of like pre- salvationism. But of course they have to believe? So when they speak of preaching the Gospel to the lost then you just need to tell them the lost they are saved already they just need to see it! So close to universal ism?

    Blomberg is addressing an old Gnostic heresy which is congruent with what you wrote about the GGS’ “pre-salvationism.” In Gnosticism, each person has a spark of the divine (Christ within), which serves as a sort of ‘pre-salvation’. According to the doctrine, all one has to do is realize this, then work towards actualizing their own ‘divinity’ – i.e. self-salvation. I’ve seen varieties of this kind of teaching within the so-called Christian realm.

Leave a Reply

