A Different Time

I receive daily devotionals from Walk Thru the Bible; and, I was struck by this one today.  It references Romans 4:

 Justification by faith is illustrated in the Old Testament through the lives of Abraham and David.

 To impute something means “to apply something to your account.” The Bible teaches that no one can earn salvation.  However, God will give it to us freely if we have faith in Him.  God honors the attitude of our hearts and imputes righteousness to our accounts.  To be able to impute righteousness to those living during Old Testament times, God looked ahead to the work of Christ on the cross.  Now he looks back to the Cross.  But in both cases, God’s people have been saved by grace through faith.

The only way those in the “faith” chapter – Hebrews 11 — could have been saved is by God looking ahead to the Cross.  This is truly amazing when you think of it.  However, as we see it, Jesus Christ was yet to be incarnated; so, with our logical, finite minds it can be difficult to grasp that the OT faithful could be saved by the Cross.  Weren’t they under the Law instead?  This is because we see time in a linear fashion.  The Greek transliterated word for ‘time’ in this sense is chronos [Strong’s # 5550] from which we get the word ‘chronology,’ for example.

Yet God is not constrained by time as we know it since He is living outside of it in ‘eternal time.’  This is why many of the NT passages which are spoken of in the present tense are actually in the future according to our linear time.  When the Apostle Paul said in his letter to the Church at Colosse, “Since, then, you have been raised up with Christ…” [Colossians 3:1a NIV] he was speaking of a future reality but also our present standing in Christ.  Since this is our future inheritance, Paul is instructing: “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” [v 3:2]

When I consider the lost sometimes I think, “Eternity is a l-o-n-g time.”  But, is that really an adequate expression of the eternal?  The finite mind just cannot grasp such a thing.  No beginning, no end: How can that be?  This should induce us to evangelize all the more.  Yet, I don’t evangelize as much as I should.  In the hustle and bustle of life, sometimes I just don’t have the time.  No – I don’t make the time.

Today is the day of salvation.  The time is now…

7 Responses to A Different Time

  1. Sean says:

    Hello Craig,

    Your post is a great reminder. I completely agree with you that God is not constrained by time and our understanding of eternity is limited. Thanks!

  2. Craig says:

    My grandmother just passed away this morning at the ripe young age of 93; and, I was reminded of this post. She was one of the most gracious individuals I had ever known never having a bad word to say about anyone that I recall.

    I want to believe she is bound for eternal life; but, I cannot say for sure. While she was an excellent example of the kind of person most would want to be (oh, if I could be as gracious as she), I’ve never seen her read a bible. When I would bring up the subject of Jesus she would agree with my stance; but, I never heard her actually state her own beliefs definitively. I tried to get her to affirm them to me yet she never really did. She would hint at it; but, I just don’t know for sure. I pray I’ll see her again on the other side of glory one day.

    She told me she’d always remember that I read the well known poem Footprints in the Sand at my father’s funeral (he requested someone read this and I volunteered) 12 years ago.

    Today is the day of salvation. Tomorrow could be too late.

  3. cherylu says:

    Craig,

    My sympathy and prayers are with you and your family today.

    May His comfort and peace be with all of you even during this difficult time.

  4. Craig says:

    Thanks cherylu.

  5. Sylvia says:

    Craig, we also send our love and prayers, and stand with you in your great hope that indeed your grandmother, who sounds so lovely, is with the Lord now. May you and your family find the comfort that only HE can bring at times such as these.

    God Bless you abundantly brother.

  6. Craig says:

    I ask all readers to reflect today — this Good Friday, the day our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ willingly submitted to death on the Cross — upon His supreme sacrifice for all of us. Let us consider all the lost around us for He wishes that none should perish, but that everyone come to repentance [2 Peter 3:9].

  7. Craig says:

    Once again I’ll ask readers to reflect on our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ’s supreme sacrifice on the Cross, thus providing salvation, a bridge to God.

    Roger Oakland has a moving piece on his site. I encourage you to read it:

    http://www.understandthetimes.org/commentary/c126grassmarket.shtml

    As I went out for lunch a bit ago, I was encouraged by the marquee outside the local San Antonio-based Mexican food chain Las Palapas which reads:

    He
    Is
    Risen
    Hallelujah

    Most Las Palapas locations are closed on Sundays “for family and worship” (some are franchises).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

